CIHR annual awards support translation of research into better care for older adults

Wednesday, June 6, 2018

The Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR)-Institute for Aging has implemented the Betty Havens Prize for Knowledge Translation in Aging which aims to recognize the outstanding achievements and excellence in knowledge translation in aging at a local or regional level, and to provide financial support to further foster excellence and innovation in knowledge translation activities.

The prize honours Betty Havens, a leading gerontologist whose notable achievements in health services and aging research influenced the creation of policy on health and aging in Canada.

Nominees for the Betty Havens Prize for Knowledge Translation in Aging must demonstrate the following:

  • Contributed significantly to moving research findings into practice or policy by facilitating the synthesis, dissemination, exchange and ethically sound application of knowledge at a local or regional level;
  • Engaged in knowledge translation activities that are specifically related/targeted to a community and/or region and are aimed at bridging the gap between knowledge and practice/policy and facilitating the dissemination, uptake and application of knowledge in this context;
  • Linked research/researchers with decision makers/knowledge users locally and/or regionally in order to improve the health of Canadians and/or health services/products and/or the Canadian health care system (policy or practice);
  • Engaged in knowledge translation efforts and strategies that have been successful in influencing or changing local, regional or provincial policy or practice;
  • Formed strong partnerships with other local/regional organizations.

The application deadline is June 21, 2018. For more information on the CIHR Institute of Aging Betty Havens Prize for Knowledge Translation in Aging, visit the website here.

The CLSA is a strategic initiative of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR). Support for the study has been provided by the Government of Canada through the CIHR and the Canada Foundation for Innovation, as well as the provincial governments of British Columbia, Alberta, Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec, Nova Scotia and Newfoundland and Labrador.